São Tomé birds looking for ID

Marcin

Hi,

I am new to the forum. I am a keen amateur birds photographer. During my recent trip to São Tomé I have taken a couple of photos of birds I have a problem to identify. Have you got any guesses about them? Thanks in advance!

With all the best, Marcin

9H6A8401.jpg

9H6A8438.jpg

9H6A8578.jpg

9H6A8653.jpg

9H6A8727.jpg

9H6A8818.jpg

@Marcin 

Hi and welcome to SafariTalk, great to have some one else who has visited São Tomé, I am to my knowledge, the only other member here who has been to STP, I am also quite keen on birds, so I should be able to help. Having said that due to our flight from Libreville to São Tomé being seriously delayed our one scheduled trip to go birding in Obo NP on ST had to be cut short, I only had one night on the island before moving on to Principe. The only real birding I got to do was on Principe, however, after refreshing my memory by downloading a checklist of the bird of São Tomé from the African Bird Club website, (you can get a checklist just for ST or one for both islands), I’ve had a go at identify them.

Checklist of the birds of São Tomé 

I’m not sure about number 1 it is certainly a weaver and it looks like a female, I’m sure it’s not a São Tomé weaver, that just leaves southern masked (Ploceus velatus) , village (Ploceus cucullatus) or giant (Ploceus grandis), my thought was it might be giant but the eye colour doesn’t look right and the beak seems just not quite big enough, however, I don’t think it looks that close to either of the other two. So, I’m not certain on this one.

Number 2 my best guess is that this could be a female white-winged widowbird (Euplectes albonotatus) I wondered about a non-breeding male but a male should have a small patch of yellow on the shoulder.