Jump to content

Giraffe subspecies ID Pics. What are the visual differences?

Game Warden

Recommended Posts

Game Warden

There are ten subspecies of Giraffe:


Angolensis - Angolan giraffe, Smokey giraffe.


Antiquorum - Kordofan giraffe.


Camelopardalis - Nubian giraffe.


Congoensis or Ladoensis - Congo giraffe.


Giraffa - South African giraffe, Cape giraffe.


Peralta - West African, Nigerian giraffe.


Reticulata - Reticulated giraffe.


Rothschildi - Rothschild’s giraffe.


Thornicrofti -Thornicroft’s giraffe.


Tippelskirchi - Masai giraffe, Kilimanjaro giraffe.


With your photos, please include the subspecies and when and where taken.

Link to post
Share on other sites


Maasai Giraffe (Serengeti, Tanzania) - the patterns are "blotchy", though as you can see from the male on the right, the patterns vary.



Reticulated Giraffe (Meru, Kenya) - crisp, polygonal patterns extending all the way down the legs.



Rothschild's Giraffe (Murchison Falls, Uganda) - polygonal patterns not as crisp as in the reticulated. Lines separating the patterns are thicker. The patterns fade out in the legs.



An intermediate form? (Sosian Ranch, Kenya) - interestingly, giraffes in western Laikipia appear to have both reticulated and Rothschild's traits.



Southern Giraffe (Nylsvley, South Africa) - patterns duller and not as "blotchy" as those of the Maasai giraffe. The dead giveaway is that they don't occur in East Africa!



Thornicroft's Giraffe (S. Luangwa, Zambia) - very similar to the southern giraffe but smaller.


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thornicroft's is indeed smaller than Southern, but also (generally) a lighter head, and no spots low on the legs.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Game Warden

Thanks for getting us started @@Safaridude and for your additional comment @@egilio.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 9 months later...
Game Warden

Who can update this topic with more id pics?



Link to post
Share on other sites
Game Warden

So, are there 9 or 10 subspecies?

Link to post
Share on other sites

(Referring to deleted content):


Apparently Kingdon does it the other way ´round - his field guide (1997) says there are 8 subspecies, including congoensis but not antiquorum. He describes Rothschild´s as hybrids only.


This side lists 9, omitting congoensis, just like your FB link:




See also here, 9 (sub)species or only even 6 according to this:




9 (Sub)species listed also here (with good comparison pics):



Link to post
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...

Important Information

Safaritalk uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By using Safaritalk you agree to our use of cookies. If you wish to refuse the setting of cookies you can change settings on your browser to clear and block cookies. However, by doing so, Safaritalk may not work properly and you may not be able to access all areas. If you are happy to accept cookies and haven't adjusted browser settings to refuse cookies, Safaritalk will issue cookies when you log on to our site. Please also take a moment to read the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy: Terms of Use l Privacy Policy