Best Places to Bird in Zambia

Maryefuller

Maryefuller

Hey all -

Hoping to get some input from the experts here - what are the best places to bird watch in Zambia? I'm working on a travel guide for the country, and I would like to include a little information on the bird and birdwatching in Zambia, but unfortunately I have little experience in the area. I know Kasanka and the Bangweulu Wetlands are the best place to spot a shoebill, but any other spots that people interested in birds should be sure not to miss.

Thanks for the input.

Mary

I’ve never done a serious birding trip in Zambia so I’ve only birded while on safari in some of the familiar parks so I haven’t visited any of the birding sites outside the parks, so I don’t personally know much about these sites.

What I do know is that some of the best birding sites are in the Mwinilunga District in the far northwest bordering Angola & DRC. In this area you can find a lot of birds not found elsewhere in Zambia including many primarily Congolese species that you would otherwise have to go to the DRC to find not advisable I would think and also some typically Angolan species, though Angola is no longer off limits. I don’t know the details of the actual sites I’d have to look them up in the book Southern African Birdfinder which would be your best bet for info on where to go birding in Zambia

Otherwise I have found this webpage that lists the main sites around the country Travel Zambia top birding spots I hope this helps.

In my opinion, Kafue National Park might be one of the best birding destinations in all of Africa.