Drool on these overlanders

armchair bushman

armchair bushman

@Gray Nomad's post about his own build for his new overland 70 series LC got my interest. And now I can't stop looking for these things. It's difficult to concentrate on anything else, really.

Look at this: http://earthroamer.com/

And this!: http://www.offroad-schmiede.com

and there are so many more.

I want I want I want.

I regularly stop by the forum at 4x4community.co.za and look at what those South Africans build. It's amazing. I want I want I want too.

I am doing an overland build right now.

And will post some photos when its complete.

I am doing an overland build right now.

Awesome: will you need a co-pilot when you drive from the Cape to Cairo? :)

Some lessons learned from the past. I have been doing overlanding for many years. Started with a diesel series III landy with a roof top tent. At the time RTT's were pretty new inventions. Later went to a Defender also with RTT and then went for the trailer and the Jeep. Now doing away with the RTT and the trailer, and doing normal tent and making the vehicle carry everything we need.

A couple of things I have learned. Most people (including me) over rate the importance of 4x4 capability. In fact you don't need to have such a capable 4x4, and should rather get something that will give you comfort for hours on the road, and use less fuel. Most of the time you will be traveling on roads that other cars travel on, and there is nothing technical about overland driving. Also there is a tendency to pack everything on the roof, and make the car unstable and heavy on fuel.

So you wont need something like this....

gallery_4095_907_203417.jpg

You should be able to drive for 2000km without looking for fuel. I hate carrying Jerry cans, so all fuel is kept in tanks in the vehicle.