Kafue, Zambia. August 18th-29th

douglaswise

This will be a Trip Report without photographs.

My wife ® and I, in celebration of our golden wedding, decided to visit Zambia this year. We were joined by another couple of similar vintage, the husband of whom had been my best man. Our itinerary was as follows:

18th Pioneer Camp, Lusaka, 1 night.

19th-21st Musekese, Kafue, 3nights

22nd-26th Busanga Plains Camp, 5nights

27th-29th Return to Musekese, 2 nights

Why this itinerary? Indeed, why Africa at all?

Every time we visit Africa, we enjoy it. However, before planning a return trip, we always worry it will prove an anticlimax and question whether the expense and increasingly unpleasant travel needed to get there can be justified. I was at prep school in Nairobi in 1950 and 1951 while my father was stationed there and always longed to go back. As a veterinary student, I was lucky enough to spend two long vacations in East Africa. In 1964, I was sent to collect hearts and arteries from scavenging animals and, in 1965, I worked with an American research team involved in elephant studies in Uganda. It was not until 19 years later that I could afford to take my wife on her first trip to Kenya. We visited the Mara and then spent a week with the Craigs at Lewa. David Craig (Ian's father) and I got heavily involved in discussions on his livestock problems and he invited us to return at his expense the following year to delve into matters more deeply. The year after, he invited us to come as a family, bringing our two sons. We spent a week at Lewa, a week visiting Meru and Mara and a week staying at the Craigs' house on the coast. After this, I felt that I had imparted most of the knowledge likely to be useful to David and that it would be improper to sponge off him further. At the same time, we felt that returning as "mere" tourists might prove an anticlimax.