How to survive vehicle breakdown during safari (inside or outside the park)?

gagan

Share your real experiences or tips to avoid such mishappenings

Edited by gagan

TIP #1. Don't drive a LandRover...

Uh_oh busted

Find out the emergency road service number for the country(ies) you will be driving in. Especially someplace like Swaziland :-) Also what you need to dial, even to make a call "roaming". In Swaziland, it was "00"

TIP #1. Don't drive a LandRover...

A landrover might have more frequent problems than an landcruiser, but those problems are usually easier to fix in the bush. If you want a good chance of being able to fix a break down, chose a landrover. If want a small chance of breaking down, but a good chance of not being able to fix the bread down in the bush, chose a landcruiser.

I've been helping people set up self-drive safaris for the past 5 years and I drove safari vehicles in Zimbabwe from 91-95, then in Kenya from 04-08. Consistently Southern African safari vehicles were SIII, Defender, 110 etc safari conversions...life was tough for these vehicles and all had problems. Kenya, East Africa we used LCs - no problems. Older LRs can usually be fixed in the bush - in a day or two - however modern Landy's often need parts from a main dealer requiring more time and expense.

TIP #2. Drive a cruiser.

Find out the emergency road service number for the country(ies) you will be driving in. Especially someplace like Swaziland :-) Also what you need to dial, even to make a call "roaming". In Swaziland, it was "00"

For most mobiles using a '+' in front of the country code will allow you to connect

For most mobiles using a '+' in front of the country code will allow you to connect

Call the AA? Inside a national park? Good luck with that outside of SA... You're more likely to get help from the Game Rangers - if you're lucky they'll tow you back to their workshops.

KaingU Lodge

A lot of it is down to guides and maintenance.