Zim Girl's (very tiny) Big Year 2018

Zim Girl

So having thought about doing this and chickening out many times I am finally taking the plunge!!

I have been totally inspired by the likes of @michael-ibk, @xelas, @Dave Williams, @TonyQ and all the other excellent BY'ers.  Your pictures are all stunning and I have learnt a lot just from following your BY threads.

However, I am a complete birding novice and I cannot possibly match any of you for quality and quantity of pictures, but I thought it would be fun to see where I can get to.

So please let me know if I get any ID's wrong and I apologise in advance for the ramblings of a total beginner.

For the first time ever, I left the house on Friday with the sole intention of trying to photograph birds.  I went to the nearest big park and was surprised to get 14 different species. Had to give in after an hour and a half because my fingers froze with the cold!!  I am not going to put them all up as I am hoping to get better pics of some of them later on.  Progress will be slow until the weather gets warmer I think!

"EBC's"  -  I get what it means (I think), but what on earth does it stand for??

1.  Long Tailed Tit

P1000620c.jpg.4045e890fa9a684af5c5f46f18287f21.jpg

P1000622c.jpg.811a7f92793dadc976f517b2cfde33e6.jpg

Stanley Park, Blackpool - 23/02/18

2.  Great Tit

P1000628c.jpg.c270a38975e706bd5cad1b23776c908b.jpg

Edited by Zim Girl

3.  Canada Goose

P1000709.JPG.7569ea73027aff37e899bdb92cefdd61.JPG

@Zim Girl Welcome on board. We were completely new to birding at the start of 2016 Big Year and are still learning lots from the more experienced birders. The main aim is to get out more looking at birds, and to enjoy it. Beware, it can become addictive.

I have found everyone to be very supportive. So have fun.

EBC stands for Every Bird Counts - photo not very clear perhaps

Added:

We were posting at the same time- that is a great start with lovely photos. The Long Tailed Tits are beautiful.

Edited by TonyQ