How to create a birding lifelist

michael-ibk

A question for all the experienced birders among us: I am toying with the idea of creating a birding lifelist in the winter months. Apart from the Big Year and my local sightings (where I use ornitho.at) I haven´t done any database-stuff with my birding trips, and really would like to. Actually I don´t even have any idea how many birds I have seen (or photographed) worldwide.

I am unsure how to approach this project, typing all the data myself seems very cumbersome, and I really hope there must be some options online. A quick Google search didn´t really produce a quick solution for me.

So I was wondering, how are you all doing this, and what method would you recommend?

Thanks in advance!

It's one of the sites I stumbled upon Pedro (Scythebill is another one), but I have no experience with it. Do you use it? My main issue is I'd have to enter years of sightings from a lot of different places so I'm looking for the most user-friendly way to accomplish that,

I started to use it maybe one month ago, somebody from the Portuguese forum told me about it as I was asking for some advices and one of the tools it has are the target lists, which help to plan where to go and look for the species you miss.

Anyway, for me it’s much easier than for you although I’m also checking pictures from previous trips to build a life list from South Africa and I’ll probably build one from Brazil, but I don’t know if it’ possible to export those country lists to a world list.

@michael-ibk I purchased a subscription to Wildlife Recorder and populated it from past notes, TRs and photos.

Its probably more than I need, but it does the job and has a number of handy reporting functions. Of course, you could just start an Excel spreadsheet...

I'm using Birder's Diary http://birdersdiary.com/