Magical Kruger NP in February.

JPS

Magical Kruger NP in February.

The COVID-19 situation brought us all a lot of issues this year, especially for the industry where I work in which is aviation.
It also brought some good things especially for our environment, air getting cleaner, animals more seen in areas where they normally will not be seen, and many more positive changes.

I was fortunate with my employer that they allowed me to run away from China where I work as an expatriate and could work remotely in Kruger National Park beginning of February 2020 as my holiday to Kgalagadi NP was planned in March anyway.
The reason why I choose Kruger NP was mainly due to the available internet at the campsites which you will not have at Kgalagadi NP.
A small concern was the period as the general reviews state that Kruger is not good in February. With that last statement, I do not agree after visiting in that period.

Why?

1) Fewer cars and less annoying behavior from other tourists.
2) The sceneries is better than I have ever seen in Kruger.
3) Birding combined with the sounds are fantastic.
4) After the rain falls the massive amount of frogs singing is truly magical.
5) Colors in the skies are at the best.
6) Pictures are more colorful.

I stayed in the park form 6 to 26 February

Campsites visited Skukuza-Tamboti-Satara-Letaba-Lower Sabie.

I created a short impression of February in Kruger, hope that you will enjoy it.

Highlights:

• Wild dog's standoff with Hyenas.
  • Leopard moving a kill from his tree to another tree.
  • Another leopard jumping in his tree to protect his kill from a vulture.
  • Lioness with a very shy small cub
  • Hyena walking away with a elephant feet.
  • Mammals practicing fighting skill
  • Male cheetah was very nervous looking for something, guess lost brother or potential girlfriend.
  • A large flock of quelea birds flying over the grass.

Pamshelton3932

Wow!  I really enjoyed your video.  I felt like I was traveling along with you.