Big Year 2021 questions.

ElaineAust

Hi Martin @Soukous

I am new to the BY and just a question

Do I need to provide a photo of the sighting?

I only record the birds in a diary at the moment.

And Happy New Year to all.

Elaine

Hi @ElaineAustwelcome.  I’m not Martin but yes you need to provide a photograph of each species for it to count. Quality of the photograph is optional 😝

Check out the post entitled Big Year 2021 by @Game Wardenfor the rules (such as they are). 

Edited by shazdwn

6 hours ago, ElaineAust said:

Yup, photo proof is a requirement for each sighting. 

In my case it is essential as otherwise I'd get loads of IDs wrong. :(

6 hours ago, ElaineAust said:

Hi @ElaineAustI've split your questions into a new topic so as not to tie up @Soukous's Big Year 2021 topic.

@everyone - if you have Big Year Questions, this is the topic to ask them in.

Matt

Thanks Matt

Thank you all and back to my list.

Elaine

@ElaineAust, the challenge ( if one may call this friendly competion that ) of the Big Year topic is to see how many bird species we can photograph, rather than how many different birds we see. So the photos are not so  much proof of a sighting, but the whole point of the thread. Perhaps we'll still have you join us at a later stage?  In the meantime happy birding in 2021 !

Welcome. You will fit in fine here.

Most of us are crazy with a minority responding to treatment. Covid 19 has not helped the prognosis.

Two rules. Make sure the lens cap is 'off' and the camera 'on'. It would help if the bird was in the viewfinder but not obligatory.

Thanks for the welcome @PeterHGand @Galana

Must remember Lens Cap OFF & Camera turned ON.  Bird in the viewfinder?  What is a "view finder"?:lol:

Dave Williams