Big Cats of Kenya (Olare Motorogi Conservancy)

BonitaApplebum

BonitaApplebum

Hi everyone! Covid meant it would be the longest I had gone without travelling to Africa for safari since I went on my first one nearly 15 years ago. Early this year I decided to return to Kenya, but this time to visit one of its conservancies instead of the national reserve. I was happy to support the local Maasai and see how this ownership arrangement worked, and as a photographer I was looking forward to a lower density (at least with regards to people) location with freedom to head off road. I had read great things here and elsewhere about the Olare Motorogi Conservancy and the abundance of big cats so I focused there. I then landed on Kicheche Bush Camp and booked 9 nights. I know this seems like a lot of time at one place, but it was purposeful. First, these days I don't tend to visit more than two camps/lodges on a single (approx. 2 week) trip as I like to maximize time in the parks and minimize time travelling between them. Second, I like to get settled in and more familiar with the animals as I think that leads to better photographic opportunities.