Predators of the Kwara Concession, Okavango Delta

BonitaApplebum

BonitaApplebum

Hi all!

I made my first trip to Botswana and the Okavango Delta, a location that's been top of my list for years. It was a bit of a covid revenge trip, if I'm honest. I booked it nearly 18 months out because I just wanted it in the calendar! I'm sure many of you can relate. I spent hours getting educated on the various operators and concessions. If any of you have seen my other trip reports, you'll know I'm a keen photographer and this fact drives a lot of my decisions when booking a trip. Being the Delta, I knew cost was going to be a bigger factor in my decision than on previous trips. Finding the balance between a location that appealed to me and the cost of the associated camps proved a bit of a challenge. In the end I settled on the Kwara concession and Kwando Safaris. I had read good things (here and elsewhere) about the Kwara concession and of course Kwando runs all of the camps in this area. The flagship Kwara camp had recently been refurbished and so I decided to spend my time there.