Go to Botswana, see - Millipedes!

momliz

A copy of the report that I posted on the other place. The millipedes were everywhere, a green season treat - big ones, little ones, black legs, yellow legs.

This is my report of our trip to Botswana, a Wilderness Safaris package, the Green Desert Expedition, 4 nights mobile camping in the Kalahari Game reserve, and two nights at Xigera, and we added 2 nights at Kwando Lebala and a night at Victoria Falls, all booked through Eyes on Africa. We are a family of 7, me, my DH, and 3 DS's, ages 18 and 13 year old twins, and my sister and her 17 year old DS. My sister and I lived in Uganda, in Kampala, in the 60's and traveled extensively in East Africa in the late 60's/early 70's. This was my first time back (except Egypt last year), and my first time in southern Africa. I will talk briefly about each day, with comments at the end. We are interested in all kinds of things, my background is in botany and environmental science, and we went knowing that the game viewing may not be great – and not knowing what to expect. The two older boys did not want to go at all – leave their girlfriends over the Christmas break? The trip was made when I heard my nephew whisper, “That's tight!” when we saw our first (of many) lion, up close and personal. We all loved every minute of the trip! I will post photos soon.

12/21 – We arrive J'burg, stayed at Metcourt Laurel – like a Holiday Inn, but with way, way more room – huge rooms, wide halls. Very nice for what it was. Decent dinner in food court in enclosed mall at Emperor's Palace complex. For me, the trip starts the minute I walk out the door and I am getting old and crotchety. So, we splurged, and went business – I had a Y ticket, upgraded with miles, and the rest of the family were full fare. And, I would not do it any other way. Flew Delta (SAA too expensive) IAD - ATL – JNB.