OL PEJETA AND THE MARA 2010

samburumags

I have never written a report like this before and certainly not one to be read by people who know more about the subject than I do and certainly not with photography which people who are experts are likely to see but here goes. It was another wonderful outing in Kenya and I just wish I was back there.

I was uneasy about travelling on my own but I can honestly say that I never felt lonely once. At both destinations, Sweetwaters and (dare I say it) the Ashnil Mara Camp I was welcomed with open arms and felt more at home than I do at home!

After overcoming the mind boggling security which Nairobi airport now offers, finger printing and photographing passengers, I was met by my friend and guide Peter from Somak who I have known for about 10 years. It was great to see him again and he drove me through the horrendous Nairobi traffic to The Serena where I was to stay one night. It was a lovely day and so after a short nap I spent the afternoon by the pool indulging in a couple of Tuskers.

I flew to Nanyuki on a Cessna caravan and, after a short drive during which we spotted lions mating, arrived just in time for lunch. When I entered my tent, which was large and well fitted I found to my great delight a complimentary bottle of wine, there was electric lighting too and so no problem for charging cameras and phones .After leaving my luggage in the tent I immediately met a beautiful waterbuck eating the hedging around my tent and looking very happy to be amongst humans!

I was fortunate to have my own guide for the drives at Sweetwaters and we certainly saw plenty of wildlife that afternoon. Being a big cat fan our first encounter was with lion,

gallery_6341_324_80478.jpg