Nxai Pan, Lebala & Lagoon

Hunting Dog

Hunting Dog

This is my first attempt at a trip report so please be gentle with me!

I'm not a particularly good photographer so don't expect too much on that front - also the pics that I've included are to illustrate the story and aren't necessarily the best quality ones (honest guv)

The trip was 8 nights, 2 at Nxai Pan, 2 at Lebala, 2 at Lagoon (all Kwando properties) from 23rd to 31st March 2012, and is my excuse for not getting to the London meet up...

We had pre-arranged a private car throughout but not a specified guide.

Nxai Pan

Nxai Pan is in a National Park so no off road driving or night drives are allowed. We actually found that made for a more relaxing start to the holiday than the typical crashing through undergrowth in search of dogs as is the norm in the northern Kwando concessions. Not being allowed off road did reduce some of the photo opportunities (lots of cheetah 'sightings' which were dots on the horizon) but did also reduce the anxiety level around "could we have gotten a better photo by trying to get 5m closer" or "would we have gotten a better photo if we stopped 5m earlier and didn't scare X off" - hence the more relaxed feeling to the drives. Our guide was 'Vasco' and tracker Kering.

There is a water / mud hole about 100m away from the lodge which seems to have a resident collection of large bull elephants, photo taken from lodge;

post-5371-0-70604100-1333368617_thumb.jpg

General game viewing was very good with large numbers of zebra and springbok and some groups of Oryx, including this group with two youngsters. We'd not seen Oryx elsewhere so were very pleased to see these;

post-5371-0-21375000-1333369212_thumb.jpg

The lodge setting wasn't quite as stunning as I'd hoped but the huge flat plains in the adjacent areas are wonderful;

post-5371-0-79272800-1333369431_thumb.jpg