Kenya's Mara Plains Camp in the off-season and high season

safariguy

A trip report from me has been a long time in coming, so I have decided to write up something from a recent 2013 safari to Mara Plains Camp, Kenya. So here goes!

I lead photographic safaris all across the African continent, and I am tasked with providing the best photographic opportunities along with excellent safari experiences. This usually means off-road driving capabilities in game-rich areas and fewer vehicles present at sightings. This is a tough bill to deliver, and in Kenya’s Masai Mara ecosystem it’s even tougher to deliver. Enter Mara Plains Camp. I have been visiting Mara Plains for a few years now, and what I have loved about Mara Plains keeps getting better: the staff, the guides, the accommodations, the atmosphere and above all else the wildlife. Mara Plains went through a complete rebuild earlier in 2013, and I have guided three safaris at Mara Plains since it reopened. Technically the camp wasn’t open yet in late May, so we also used the services of nearby Mara Toto camp to augment.

Our May/June safaris had me at camp for 16 straight nights, and I had the best run of cheetah sightings! I believe we counted 11 individual cheetahs, and on some drives we had great hunts and chases of prey. Lions were also plentiful, however good leopard sightings were tough to come by. We had the sightings, but didn't have the best light or clear viewings. It's just the nature of how the safari world works, and I am honored to be the presence of leopards no matter how good the photographic opportunity is.

My wildebeest migration safari in August was less fruitful for cheetah, however we had a more balanced trip with tons of ungulates to watch as the grazers moved in to fill up the plains. It was a great trip, and we rarely needed to go into the reserve for our sightings.