Trip report - Tanzania & Zanzibar

Jochen

Right...

I was asked to post my trip reports here too.

I'm currently writing one on Brazil (half way finished, in Dutch, see my website pixelpower.be) and when it's done I'll translate it and post it on aardvarktravel.net. And here, if I may.

But then there's that other trip report on Aardvark. The one of last year. Been thinking; perhaps better if I post it here too. Hell, why not!

So here goes...

(I am a lousy writer, so it's not like Matt's. Sorry B) . I hope it contains lots of valuable info on lodges, parks, gear, etc... though.)

Where to start? I guess with the beginning. Nope not the 1st day... waaaay before that there was the...

1) PREPARATION.

As some of you may know, I put quite a lot of effort into preparing this trip. Where to go (paks, lodges), when to go, what to take, etc... You'll find more details on all this throughout the report, but let me start with a list of sites that proved to be helpfull:

- www.bwanamitch.com. This is the biggest Afrika portal site on the web. Through this site I found about all I was looking for, from general info down to travel guides.

- www.andybiggs.com . I knew Andy Biggs from www.dpreview.com, and knew he started a safari-business. So I got in touch with him for some very specific questions. One of those questions was about hand luggage (he's been using KLM a lot as well, so he knew all the tricks there are). Getting all camera gear in the overhead bins and not in the normal luggage compartment is important. Other questions were of course about photo gear (duh). For example, Andy was the one who pointed out the Kinésis Beanbag to me (http://kgear.com/r/). thanks Andy! Note; the banner on this website is Andy's B)

- I used http://mwanasimba.online.fr/E_index.html to learn some Swahili. As I didn't buy a general guidebook (why still bother with all that general info? It's all on the web anyway), this site was very handy. It may look very basic, but it works!